Retail POS Plus may earn a commission when you purchase through links on our site. This does not affect our editorial evaluations — rankings are set by our scoring methodology before affiliate terms are considered. Full disclosure
Verification status: lightspeedhq.com blocked automated fetches on 2026-08-09, so this page originally carried LIKELY-level, third-party figures. On 2026-09-03 we read the official pricing page (lightspeedhq.com/pos/retail/pricing/, US) in a live browser — plan prices, the $59/mo extra-register fee, per-location pricing, the 2.6% + 10¢ card-present rate and the plan–feature matrix are now verified against the official page. What remains unverified: contract length, trial terms, online processing rates and hardware kit prices, which Lightspeed's pricing page doesn't state. The “get an exact quote” checklist at the bottom still applies to those.

Lightspeed Retail is the most expensive mainstream POS we track — and, per our inventory ranking, the deepest: native purchase orders, receiving, transfers, serialized items and the strongest reporting. Its pricing model has three moving parts: the plan subscription (annual billing standard), per-register fees, and a payments bundle that's mandatory on the entry tier. Here's each piece.

Lightspeed Retail Plans at a Glance

PlanAnnual billing (official)Month-to-month (official)What each tier adds (official matrix)
Basic$89/mo$109/moCore retail POS + inventory, Basic-tier built-in eCommerce, 24/7 chat support
Core$149/mo$179/mo+ full eCommerce, loyalty, advanced reports, integrations, Mobile Scanner App, landed costs
Plus$289/mo$339/mo+ Insights/forecasting, API access, Workflows, custom user roles, SSO, 24/7 phone support
EnterpriseCustom (multi-location / high volume — contact sales)Quoted; multi-location at scale lands here

All plan prices, the register fee and per-location pricing verified against the official pricing page on 2026-09-03 (annual billing saves up to 18% versus month-to-month, per the page's own toggle). Each plan includes 1 register and 1 location. Contract length is not stated on the pricing page — third-party sources report annual commitments with auto-renewal, which we rate LIKELY; get term and cancellation rights in writing. Feature gates per plan verified via the official comparison matrix — see our Basic vs Core breakdown.

Extra registers: $59/month each, verified in Lightspeed's official pricing wizard on 2026-09-03 (e.g., a two-register Basic store on annual billing runs $148/mo). An older third-party $29 figure is outdated. Extra locations: each additional location is priced the same as the base plan — two locations on Core annual = $298/mo.

Free trial: sources conflict — one claims a 14-day trial, Lightspeed's site pushes a free-demo/contact-sales flow, and no free plan exists in any source. Ask directly.

Payment Processing: Lightspeed Payments

Lightspeed Payments is Lightspeed's in-house processing, integrated with the POS on every plan. The official pricing page lists a 2.6% + 10¢ card-present rate on all three plans — but it doesn't state online rates, keyed-in rates or whether outside processors are allowed. Here's what's verified and what isn't:

RateQuotedOur confidence
In-person (card present)2.6% + 10¢Verified on the official pricing page, all plans (2026-09-03)
Online~2.9% + 30¢Third-party sources; not stated on the pricing page — confirm in quote
“1.5% flat card-present”Claimed by some aggregatorsNot shown on the official page — disregard unless quoted in writing
High volume (reportedly ~$250K+/mo)Custom / negotiableSingle-source — get it in writing

Two structural notes. First, third-party sources report that Lightspeed Payments is required on Basic while Core and above may use third-party processors — the official pricing page doesn't state this either way (its "Save with Lightspeed Payments" toggle showed identical plan prices on or off when we checked on 2026-09-03), so treat processor flexibility as a quote-level question. Second, some sources report that using an outside processor can raise your subscription — one aggregator circulates a figure up to ~$400/month extra, which we rate UNCERTAIN, but the direction is consistent. Negotiate the quote, not just the plan.

Hardware Costs

Lightspeed Retail runs on iPads (no Android tablets), with Mac/PC browser access to the back office. Lightspeed sells curated hardware kits through its own store, but official kit prices weren't fetchable; third-party estimates (rated LIKELY as ranges):

ItemThird-party estimateNotes
Complete single-register setup~$500–2,000One source estimates ~$1,484 before the iPad itself
iPad / terminal~$300–800Your own iPad may work — check compatibility
Receipt printer~$200–400
Cash drawer~$100–200Only if you take cash
Barcode scanner~$80–150A mobile-scanner app exists in some markets
Card reader~$0–100“$0 with Lightspeed Payments” claim unverified

First-Year Total Cost: Two Worked Examples

Scenario: one store doing $30,000/month in card sales (~1,500 transactions), all in person.

Example 1 — Basic plan, one register, annual billing

Cost lineMonthlyYear oneNotes
Software (Basic, annual)~$89~$1,068Month-to-month would be ~$109/mo (~$1,308/yr)
Processing (~2.6% + 10¢ on $30k)~$930~$11,160Quoted rate — verify in writing
Hardware (single-register kit)~$500–2,000 one-timeThird-party estimate
Total~$1,019~$12,728–14,228Processing is ~80% of the total

Example 2 — Same store, two registers, Core plan

Cost lineMonthlyYear oneNotes
Software (Core + 1 extra register)~$208 ($149 + $59)~$2,496Both figures quoted
Processing (~2.6% + 10¢ on $30k)~$930~$11,160Core allows an outside processor — shop it
Hardware (2nd register peripherals)~$400–800 one-timePrinter + drawer + scanner estimates
Total~$1,138~$14,056–14,456Before any paid add-ons

Assumptions: all sales card-present at the official 2.6% + 10¢ rate, annual billing, no paid add-ons, no professional services. Treat totals as planning figures, not promises — Lightspeed notes prices "can vary and additional service fees may apply depending on the nature of the business and the industry."

Hidden and Extra Costs

  • Extra registers. $59/mo each (verified in the official pricing wizard, 2026-09-03) — a cost line single-register demos won't show you.
  • Add-on creep. Reviewers consistently flag loyalty and advanced analytics as paid extras (analytics historically ~$49/mo; one review says the rewards program “nearly doubles the price”). Budget $200+/month effective once add-ons land, per multiple reviewers.
  • Annual contracts and auto-renewal. Advertised prices assume annual billing; 12-month terms with auto-renewal are the historical norm, and unexpected invoice increases are a recurring complaint. Get renewal terms in writing.
  • Payments bundling on Basic. Entry-tier buyers must use Lightspeed Payments; outside processors are allowed from Core, potentially with a higher subscription.
  • Onboarding services. Guided onboarding is included, but white-glove onboarding and implementation help are paid; multi-location implementation is custom-quoted.
  • iPad-only hardware. No Android path; existing Android tablet fleets don't carry over.

How to Pay Less

  • Bill annually. The gap between annual and month-to-month is commonly reported at ~15–20% — roughly $240/yr on Basic alone. Only skip it if contract terms genuinely scare you (they should be checked either way).
  • Right-size registers. Every extra register is $59/mo. A tablet-based mobile checkout can cover rush hours cheaper than a second full register.
  • Weigh Core for processor choice. Core costs ~$60/mo more than Basic but unlocks third-party processors. If an outside processor saves more than ~$720/year on your volume — and no subscription surcharge applies — Core can net out cheaper. Get both rates in writing first.
  • Decline add-ons until proven. Run one full quarter before buying loyalty or analytics modules; most are monthly subscriptions you can add later.
  • Negotiate. Lightspeed pricing is quote-driven in practice (especially multi-location). Volume and contract length are levers; ask.

How to Get an Exact Quote (and What to Ask)

Because official pricing couldn't be fetched and sources conflict on rates and contract details, a written quote is the only reliable number. Ask these, in writing:

  • Plan price both ways: annual vs month-to-month, and the renewal price in year two — not just the promotional first year.
  • Contract terms: length, auto-renewal mechanics, cancellation/exit fees, and whether you can export product and customer data cleanly.
  • Registers and locations: exactly what's included (plans historically include 1 register, 1 location) and the per-register price.
  • Payments: is Lightspeed Payments required on the tier you're quoting, what the in-person and online rates are, and whether using another processor changes the subscription price.
  • Feature gates: have them confirm each workflow you depend on (POs, serials, loyalty, forecasting) is on the tier being quoted — reviewer mappings conflict.
  • Trial/demo: what trial or demo access exists before an annual commitment, and what onboarding is included vs paid.

FAQ

Why does Lightspeed pricing differ between review sites?

Third parties publish figures from different dates, regions and billing modes — and until recently Lightspeed's official page resisted automated checks. As of 2026-09-03 the official US prices are verified: $89/$149/$289 annual billing, $109/$179/$339 month-to-month. Anything else you see is stale or a different region.

Is there a free plan or free trial?

No free plan in any source. Trial claims conflict: one source says 14 days, Lightspeed's site pushes a free-demo/contact-sales flow. Ask when you request your quote.

Does Lightspeed force you to use its own payment processing?

Third-party sources report Lightspeed Payments is required on Basic, with third-party processors allowed from Core up. The official pricing page doesn't state this either way (its "Save with Lightspeed Payments" toggle showed identical prices on or off at our 2026-09-03 check) — confirm processor flexibility in your quote. The verified card-present rate is 2.6% + 10¢ on all plans.

How much does a second register cost?

$59/month per additional register, verified in Lightspeed's official pricing wizard on 2026-09-03. Base plans include one register; an older $29 figure circulating on some review sites is outdated.

Is Lightspeed overkill for a single small store?

Usually yes. At ~$89/mo annual plus bundled payments, it's the priciest entry here, and reviewers describe it as “not ideal for single-store or new retailers.” Its depth pays off with high-SKU inventory and multi-store operations — see our small-business ranking for cheaper fits.

Methodology & last checked
We verify pricing against official sources wherever possible. On 2026-09-03 we read Lightspeed's official retail pricing page (lightspeedhq.com/pos/retail/pricing/, US region) in a live browser: plan prices, the $59/mo extra-register fee, per-location pricing, the 2.6% + 10¢ card-present rate and the plan–feature matrix on this page are verified against it. Online processing rates, contract length, trial terms and hardware kit prices are not stated on that page and remain third-party-sourced or UNCERTAIN. Example calculations state their assumptions. Confirm final numbers with a written Lightspeed quote before signing — see how we review.

Figures verified against Lightspeed's official retail pricing page on 2026-09-03; third-party items are labeled inline. Vendors may change terms at any time; confirm with Lightspeed before subscribing.

Related